Glitch in the Matrix

Oops!

I guess I didn’t think EVERY facet of the plan through….

So… what if friends come over to play? Duh.

Okay, so, we had one of Chip’s best friends, Jesse, over to play. Try telling a four-year-old boy to completely bypass a giant room full of toys and not touch any of them the entire time he’s there.

Yeah, didn’t happen.

So, I had to be flexible. I told the kids that they could play with a few of the toys, but only one-at-a-time and they could NOT leave the dining room.

Yeah, didn’t happen. Again.

Sigh…. But, it was nice to see them excited about playing with old toys!

My husband, Chris, also wanted me to emphasize in this post how friggin’ easy it is to clean the house now!!! Less toys =  less mess, no joke!

Also, the kids and I had a heart-to-heart about the dollhouse. I asked if they liked it after a whole week (the girls did, Chip did not). We discussed that there were four options for the dollhouse:

1.) GIVE IT – to a friend or Goodwill

2.) GRANDMA’S – house

3.) KEEP IT – here with the promise to take care of it and play with it

4.) SELL IT – and let the kids keep the profits

Hannah made me specify what “giving it away” entailed and was intrigued by the idea of selling it (the girl is a darn entrepreneur). I also made it very clear that keeping the dollhouse – and any toy – would mean a higher standard of care and devotion to said toy.

Dollhouse is staying. Without them knowing it, I’m going to get a few more items for the dollhouse off Amazon.

Tomorrow they choose their second toy…. Hold on to your shorts!!!!!!

Leave a comment